Section 8 Rental AssistanceInitial income eligibility is limited to 50% of HUD median income. Section 8 is rental assistance, not emergency housing. Provides rent subsidies to qualified low-income households in Mineral, Missoula and Ravalli County households to provide safe, decent, affordable housing. Clients pay rent based on their income. Clients find their own rental units that meet the rent ceiling and housing quality standards set by HUD. Clients may be responsible for payment of utilities depending on rental unit. Units are inspected and when satisfactory, Montana Department of Commerce in Helena (MDOC) signs housing assistance contract with the landlord to pay a portion of the rent.

Applications can be picked up at all HRC offices or call 728-3710 to have one mailed to you. You may also apply online at Initial applications are mailed to Montana Department of Commerce in Helena and are placed on a waiting list according to date of application. Waiting time for assistance can be lengthy. It is important to keep your mailing address current.  Final eligibility is determined when the name appears at the top of the list. When contacted clients need to make an appointment to determine final eligibility.

To check your status on the waitlist, visit

HUD Median Income Charts
Mineral County
Missoula County
Ravalli County

Montana Department of Commerce - Housing Division website

Go to top